Marker macros?

Discussions about Macros for DTouch for Pro Tools, OS X and Windows versions
Post Reply
Holger
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 15:53
Location: Germany

Marker macros?

Post by Holger » 18 May 2016 18:55

I'm struggling to write a macro that sets a marker, as the macro editor tells me "enter" is an "invalid key". How to do it?
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, Pro Tools 12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire, DTouch (Hanns.G HT273HPB)

Support Team
Posts: 120
Joined: 17 Feb 2016 14:23

Post by Support Team » 19 May 2016 13:34

Simply use the "Add Mem" Macro Command.
That Macro Command opens the New Memory Location window, in a way that's absolutely compatible through different keyboard layouts and languages.
The attached Macro will just do that.
Attachments
Add New Memory Location.dat
(614 Bytes) Downloaded 905 times

Holger
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 15:53
Location: Germany

Re: Marker macros?

Post by Holger » 19 May 2016 20:58

Tried it right now. Well, it works, but doesn't do what I want. I'd like to create a macro that also gets named automatically. All by pressing one button.

As far as I know, the numpad's enter key is works in all languages for memory locations.
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, Pro Tools 12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire, DTouch (Hanns.G HT273HPB)

Support Team
Posts: 120
Joined: 17 Feb 2016 14:23

Post by Support Team » 20 May 2016 09:20

The "Add Mem" opens the Pro Tools "New Memory Location" window.

Then, you can act on it, making all the adjustments you need.

If you don't need to change anything on it (even not setting a custom name), you can simply add another "Keyboard Shortcut" Macro Command that presses the standard "ENTER" key. There's no need for the numeric keypad enter key.
You may need to add some Sleep time between the two Commands.

Please take a look to the attached Macro. Does it perform the wanted task?
Attachments
Add New Memory Location 2.dat
(966 Bytes) Downloaded 878 times

Holger
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Mar 2016 15:53
Location: Germany

Re: Marker macros?

Post by Holger » 23 May 2016 15:14

No, it still doesn't do what I want it to. ;)

I'd like to create a set of macro buttons. One creates a marker called "Verse", one creates a marker called "Chorus" etc...
Theis is a task you need to do all the time and it would be handy to have predefined buttons to just drop the markers where they belong when listening to the song for the first time.
 MBPr 15" (Mid 2015) i7, Pro Tools 12.4, Studio One 3, UA Apollo Quad Firewire, DTouch (Hanns.G HT273HPB)

Support Team
Posts: 120
Joined: 17 Feb 2016 14:23

Post by Support Team » 24 May 2016 14:12

Holger,

please contact support@deviltechnologies.com, explaining the details of the Macro that you want to create.
We will post the final version of the Macro here, as soon as it's ready and complete, so that all users can see it.

Thanks!

Support Team
Posts: 120
Joined: 17 Feb 2016 14:23

Post by Support Team » 27 May 2016 14:22

Holger needs some Macros that create a new Marker with a given name in Pro Tools, so that he would be able to create a "Chorus" marker, "Verse" marker, etc... simply by pressing a button.

Creating a Marker involves creating a new Memory Location, setting its time and general properties so that it behaves like a Marker.
The attached Macro adds a "Chorus" Marker.
The first Macro Command is simply a configuration Command that contains the Marker Name that will be set, so that creating another Macro with a different Marker name is super-easy by duplicating this one.
Attachments
Add Chorus Marker.dat
(9.3 KiB) Downloaded 922 times

Post Reply